Food pyramid

Food pyramid

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

What is a food pyramid?

In the past, the typical ones used to hang in almost all classrooms diet pyramids on the walls. The "good" foods below, the "less good" ones above. Meanwhile countless food pyramids are circulating on the internet. Many organizations and health ministries in each country make independent recommendations for nutrition.
Due to new scientific findings, the nutrition pyramids that were "right" at the time were also subject to frequent changes. Nutritional pyramids should therefore still be viewed somewhat critically today.
The higher a food is in the pyramid, the less / less it should be consumed. Conversely, the lower a food is, the more often it should be consumed. A healthy diet includes the intake of fiber, protein, fat, carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals and trace elements. It depends on the quantity.
The nutrition pyramid thus represents a simple and vivid system with which a dietary behavior can be controlled and if necessary even improved. Therefore, it is particularly well suited to work with children and adolescents because the nutritional pyramid provides an external framework. Individually, the energy intake should then be adjusted to the energy requirement, depending on age, gender, body size and physical activity. Another important function is the explanation of the relationship between diet and illness. As a result, the excessive consumption of food in the upper part of the pyramid (fats, sugars and salty) could be a trigger for civilization diseases (obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure, cardiac and vascular diseases or allergies).

Food Pyramid:

The Federal Ministry of Health (Austria) has issued a 7-step recommendation.

Level 7: Fat, sweet and salty
maximum one small portion per day
Stage 6: Fats and oils
daily one tablespoon of high-quality vegetable oils
Level 5: Fish, meat, sausage and eggs
2x fish per week, 3x low-fat meat, 3x eggs
Level 4: Milk and milkproducts
three servings of healthy dairy products daily
level 3: Cereals and potatoes
Bread, potatoes, pasta and rice
Level 2: Vegetables, legumes and fruits
three servings of vegetables daily, two servings of fruit
step 1: Soft drinks
At least 1.5 liters of mineral water daily